A Banned Word: Ironic

My Banned Words are those that I refuse to put in my narrative. If you like my reasons, you’re welcome to add to my list in the comments below!

You want to know what’s ironic? My sister was listening to her iPod while she was in the car with my mom. She stumbled upon “Ironic” by Alanis Morissette. She paused the song midway through and asked Mom, “Have you ever heard that song ‘Ironic?'” Mom said she hadn’t, and Sister resumed the song. When she was between the end and the replaying of it, she heard Mom listening to it on the radio.

Isn’t it ironic?

It’s like raaaaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiii—

Okay, sorry. Wasn’t that just tedious, reading something about irony? True though it was, it offers very little interest to the reader. Even if you were interested, it’s overkill to spell out that it was ironic; it’s kinda like giving the punchline to a joke, and then explaining it to people who already got it.

Let me quote from Mittelmark and Newman‘s Chapter 10: “If it is ironic, the reader will notice. If it isn’t, asserting that it is ironic will not make it so.”

6 thoughts on “A Banned Word: Ironic

    • Thanks, Jessica! I rolled at the polar bear bit! For everyone else, be cautioned that the content of the link above may not be suitable for work or youngsters; at least I have a new comedian to check out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

