Wednesday: Before Editing and After

Before Editing and After

Are you on the fence about hiring an editor? That’s understandable; I write perfect prose, too. However, I’m going to make you look at this. Our new series, Before Editing and After, highlights writing that may not be bad originally, but that has improved after Cicero Grade’s suggestions.

For our debut BEA post, we thank writer Judi for sharing a bit of her short story. You’re awesome, Judi!

Before:

Many times I lie awake staring at the walls, and feel as if I’m waiting for the hush to fall so deep that Death will come at last and take me. I’ll just close my eyes and never wake up. He’ll take my hand and we’ll walk out the front door together.

After:

Often I lie awake and stare at the walls, the silence so deep that Death could come at last and take me. I’ll just close my eyes and never wake up; he’ll take my hand and we’ll walk out the front door together.”

How would you have rewritten it? Put your answers in the comments below!

Would you like a free paragraph-edit? To be featured in Before Editing and After, send your passage of up to 150 words (along with your name and a link to your webspace) to Blog@CiceroGrade.com. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

